My article on Kurzweil AI: Pattern survival versus Gene survival

My latest article just hit the front page of KurzweilAI.net. If, like me, you have wondered about the best way to invest your effort in a transhumanist or singularitarian direction, then please read it and tell me what you think!

What does a self-consistent, intelligent and capable person do? Which goals are so sound, so promising and so exciting that you can allow those goals to fully motivate you? Which goals can you embrace in the knowledge that you stand on a firm foundation, that your thinking is clear, and that you can be a pioneer to excel in a significant part of a vast new future?
What is more important to you: competitive patterns of thought or a sequence of DNA? Ultimately, there is no inherent reason to be more attached to the sequence of nucleotides that defines the human form than to the one that defines the form of an ant. The part that is interesting to us is the emergent world of thought and perception. If you would like to see a future that includes improvements beyond our species’ status-quo, then you should work on a transhumanist strategy that optimizes pattern survival and competition, namely work on substrate-independent minds and mind uploading. There are signs of a shift from gene-survival to pattern-survival, and Universal Darwinism favors the pattern competition winners. Of all the transhumanist strategies, advancing substrate-independent minds (ASIM) is both connected with its originating human interests and it most directly embraces and plays the game of competitive natural selection.

About randalkoene

A computational neuroscientist, information theoretician and electrical engineer with a background in physics, with the desire to understand everything and create anything. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My article on Kurzweil AI: Pattern survival versus Gene survival

  1. William Quinn says:

    Dear Dr. Lorne,
    Though we’ve never met I was so impressed with some of you’re articles and work that I felt impressed to write to you.
    I am a gulf war era veteran who struggles with PTSD , anxiety and depression. I also had a brain injury when I was a child. I have suffered from postural orthostaric tachyardia syncope for many years now.
    I have been called stupid and dumb and called a nobody. I have been one who has always believed in a better life and way of being. I do not know if you can help me but I would be most grateful if there was something in your field that could help me.
    I don’t know if you’ll read this but I feel it’s worth a try finding you and your work so brilliant and amazing.
    My e-mail is eskimobil@yahoo.com and ph# 702-358-7592 my name is Will.
    I thank you for the opportunity to reply.

    Sincerely,
    Will Quinn

    • William Quinn says:

      Dr. Koene I am sorry autocorrect changed it to Lorne.

    • randalkoene says:

      Thank you for your kind words. I wish that I were personally able to help you at this moment, but the technology is still a number of years out. That said, it is advancing at an accelerating rate and the more there is an interest, enthusiasm and effort, the faster we’ll get there. Please feel free to contact me anytime. You can find my contact information on the http://carboncopies.org site.

Leave a Reply

